Skip to Main Content

Travel Notice: Assembly Bill 1887

State-funded travel restrictions for four additional U.S. states.

The California Attorney General’s office has updated the list of states where state funds may NOT be used for travel. Idaho is the latest state, effective July 1, 2020.

There are now 12 states where AB 1887 prohibits the use of state funds to pay for travel to a state on the Attorney General’s list, except where one of the statutory exceptions applies. It does not affect travel that is paid for or reimbursed using non-state funds. 

  1. Alabama
  2. Idaho
  3. Iowa
  4. Kansas
  5. Kentucky
  6. Mississippi
  7. North Carolina
  8. Oklahoma
  9. South Carolina
  10. South Dakota
  11. Tennessee
  12. Texas

You can read the AG announcement here: And see the complete list here: which was updated October 4, 2019.

For more information see the official assembly bill and the FAQs.

Related Information

AB 1887 CA AG Adds Ohio

AB 1887 FAQs

AB 1887 Policy